Caucus Creating A Storm

Published: 14th October 2016, 11:36am

Caucus Creating A Storm

New beginnings for the Northern Ireland Assembly Women's Caucus

The first meeting of the cross-party Northern Ireland Assembly’s Women’s Caucus took place on Monday 10 October 2016.

The vision for the Caucus is to create “A united Women’s Assembly Caucus, working together irrespective of political party affiliation, to ensure equality for all; to provide an opportunity for women to exchange and ensure there is cross-party collaboration on ideas; to form collective platforms on particular policies and actions, and; to support one another on issues and areas of common concern”.

Chairperson of the Caucus, Caitríona Ruane MLA said: The first meeting of the Women’s Caucus is an important one, it is a new beginning for the Assembly in terms of addressing gender imbalance and being at the forefront of change. This is a big step forward for women in political and public life.”

Deputy Chairperson Paula Bradley MLA said: “This is an important day for the Assembly and one which we will all hopefully look back on with pride when the Assembly is leading the way forward in terms of gender equality.”

The Assembly Women’s Caucus will over the coming months be assessing how best they can take forward their agenda. The Caucus will provide a unique opportunity to tackle the under-representation of women in political and public life.

Dr Gareth McGrath, Executive Director of Politics Plus said “The contribution and commitment of our female MLAs here in the Northern Ireland Assembly cannot be overstated and I am delighted that with the creation of the Assembly Women’s Caucus; they now have a platform from which to influence and to inspire.  Addressing the under- representation of women is at the very core of the work we do through Politics Plus and I look forward to working with the Assembly Women’s Caucus to further develop and strengthen this important initiative”.

The first meeting of the Northern Ireland Assembly Women’s Caucus elected as Chairperson Caitríona Ruane MLA, with Paula Bradley MLA, being elected as Deputy Chair.

Members of the Caucus include:

Kellie Armstrong MLA

Rosemary Barton MLA

Michaela Boyle MLA

Paula Bradley MLA

Joanne Bunting MLA

Claire Hanna MLA

Emma Little Pengelly MLA

Carla Lockhart MLA

Jennifer McCann MLA

Sandra Overend MLA

Caitríona Ruane MLA

Clare Bailey MLA

Claire Sugden , Minister of Justice

Latest News

CELEBRATE Speaker line up

Next Chapter Project announces Final Closing Event

The Final Closing Event for The Next Chapter PEACE IV Project will take place on Wednesday 26 February

20th February 2020

Parliament Buildings

Women’s Caucus elect new Chair and Deputy Chair

The Northern Ireland Women's Caucus elect Clare Bailey MLA as new Chair and Rosemary Barton MLA as new Deputy Chair

20th February 2020

Empowering Women Donegal

Next Chapter participants roll out grass roots Community Projects

Ten projects are taking place across NI & Border Counties as part an EU-funded project supporting women to address local issues

22nd November 2019